Additional legal considerations / protective measures for exit operators

This mailing list topic got me thinking about exit relay considerations beyond just angry letters, so I wanted to open a thread to discuss considerations and proactive measures for exit operators which go beyond the normal subject of responding to abuse claims, and instead address possible law enforcement interest, i.e. issuance of a search warrant.

Mandatory disclaimer: I am not a lawyer, I have some amateur familiarity with US law, and I have little familiarity with laws outside the US. Much of what I know on the topic of search and seizure comes from Tyler Pitchford Esq.'s DEF CON 17 talk on the subject, as well as reading some search and seizure cases. Nothing here should be considered legal advice. All I have to say is also contextualized to US law since that’s all I’m personally familiar with.

So, if the situation were to arise that a US exit operator were raided because of something transmitted through their exit, then the following would likely be true:

• During a search, the police may not search any location which could not reasonably contain the object of their search. Since computer data can occupy extremely tiny spaces (such as on a microSD card), virtually anything in the operator’s home would be within scope of search.
  • Any contraband found during the search would be subject to seizure and could be used as evidence against the operator. This likely remains true even though the operator can prove the search was justified by faulty information. The warrant was issued with probable cause and the search was performed in good faith, so anything found during that search is admissible as evidence, even if it’s not the subject of the search.
  • Computers and electronic devices owned by the operator may be seized pending investigation, and will likely not be returned for a very long time.