[tor-project] Marcos monthly status report, December 2022

Hi all :slight_smile:

Here’s my monthly status report for December 2022

This month was effectively purely focused on Windows WebRTC things. Since Mozilla doesn’t support building with mingw on a windows host, this turned out to be a very deep rabbit hole of many different possible approaches.

At the beginning of the month, I did some work on my build merge request 1, but then I decided to focus on getting windows builds working, since that was my goal for this month, and also no major releases were happening that would’ve included the WebRTC build MR.

I first tried testing out of a linux host using wine, but that very quickly fell apart, and I have little experience with wine so I decided to not pursue that any further.

The first part of getting Windows host builds working was setting up a development environment. I first tried building on a linux host, copying the artefacts to a windows machine, and trying to test from there, but this didn’t work, for reasons which I cant remember. However since then, I’ve done a lot of dev environment set up, so this may potentially be a viable approach again.

The next approach I tried was building in WSL, and testing straight out of a WSL shell. I decided to do this as I was most familiar with linux environments, and WSL allows windows executables to run, which wouldn’t run under wine when I tested from linux. This again failed, but this time it was because certutil.exe would fail first due to missing dlls, which was fixed very quickly, but then with CKR_GENERAL_ERROR, which is incredibly vague. After trying to investigate this, I deemed this approach non viable, as there were hundreds of potential code paths that could trigger this error.