Suggestions for Bridge hardware & OS

Hello! I would like to run a bridge from home and was wondering what hardware and OS you guys recommend. I’m not very tech savvy and will likely need some help further along the process; I’m hoping it’s a setup and forget about it sort of deal (correct me if I’m wrong pls). The Tor website asks to use a BSD OS so which one would you guys recommend? Ideally I want a setup that’s as simple as possible to get running, maintain, and is reasonably future proof. Thanks!

Hello @yummy_onion, do you have a static IPv4 address or do you have a dynamic IP address?
If you have a static IPv4, I would recommend running an obsf4 bridge. But if you have a dynamic IPv4, I would strongly recommend running a standalone snowflake proxy: Tor Project | Snowflake

Snowflake is a new circumvention system and it’s very helpful for Tor users in Russia, China and also other countries too.

The Tor website asks to use a BSD OS so which one would you guys recommend?

We recommend using the OS that you’re more familiar. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Don’t know which type of IP I have, will get back to you on that. I already run Snowflakes (oddly enough though, I’ve never seen anyone be connected to mine). I’m most comfortable with Windows but don’t want to use that for running anything privacy related on it. Do you have any hardware suggestions?

Hi @yummy_onion I am with a dynamic IP address with a Standalone Snowflake Proxy in a Raspberry PI 3 B+ Buy a Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+ – Raspberry Pi in that proxy I received around 12 users/connections per hour. Hope this info is useful to you.

4 Likes