New to server operation

As title suggests, im new to server administration. Not new to tor, or compiling source code, working with linux, and OS X unix, etc…

I am interested in getting involved with the Tor project as a community member, and relay operator.

Im running into issues with tor not being able to autodetect IPv4 addresses, I figured a work around by using a dynamic DNS updater and registering a hostname. But im still running into issues with my router dropping packets, occasionally sending RST packets and closing sockets. Things being wonky as shit. So I’ve been wanting to put it at the front of the network, to act as both a gateway to my local network, and putting my wifi router behind it, with my wireless devices behind another firewall beyond my relay. That said, what can I do to increase security and stability? Im open to switching OS’s to something different if need be, but would like to stick with OS X Snow leopard if at all possible as its stable, and my relay node is running on an old, heavily modified Mac Pro.

Im also interested in running a Dir Mirror too, I’ve got an unmetered connection, and unlimited bandwidth, and im willing to donate half or a bit less of my bandwidth for this endeavor, and for now, don’t intend on running another relay until I’ve got this one sorted, pen tested, and stable.
Im most interested in running either a guard, or middle relay, not an exit.

Server nickname, MidWorldRelay9
Fingerprint: 51A3394C59BF5E414D57722335CD1E838C6EE986